cph pix
14.—17. november 2019
KontaktBranchePresseEnglishbuster filmfestival

Meet this year's international jury

Each year an international jury appoints the winner of New Talent Grand PIX. This year, the jury consists of Joachim Lafosse from Belgium, Tatiana Leite from Brazil and Jesper Ganslandt from Sweden. Together they will chose the winner among 11 debuting filmmakers from around the world.

Meet the jury members of CPH PIX 2018.

Jesper Ganslandt

Writer-Director, Sweden.

Jesper Ganslandt was born in 1978 in the westcoast town of Falkenberg, Sweden, and moved to Stockholm in 2000 where he established the production company Fasad. His hometown provided the backdrop for his critically acclaimed feature film debut 'Falkenberg Farewell' which premiered in Venice in 2006 and received five nominations at the Swedish Guldbagge including Best Directing.

In the following years Jesper collaborated closely with the collective of filmmakers at Fasad, resulting in documentaries and the concert film 'Skinnskatteberg' in 2008. The year after Ganslandt's second feature followed - 'The Ape', which screened at Venice and Toronto - and the same year he executively produced 'Burrowing', whose score was presented live at CPH PIX in 2013.

The feature 'Blondie' premiered inToronto in 2012. This year Jesper's fourth feature 'Jimmie' opened RotterdamInternational Film Festival and is now playing at PIX. Jesper plays the lead role himself, together with his 4 year old son Hunter Ganslandt. In 2018 Jesper also directed his first English language feature 'Beast of Burden' with Daniel Radcliffe.

Joachim Lafosse

Writer-Director, Belgium.

Joachim Lafosse was born in 1975 in Brussels. After graduating from the IAD he directed his first feature  in 2003, 'Folie Privee', which premiered in competition in Locarno.

In 2006, he directed no less than two feature films, 'Ca Rend Heureux' (in competition at Locarno and winner of the Jury Grand Prize at the Premiers Plans Festival) as well as 'Private Property' with Isabelle Huppert (in competition at Venice Film Festival).

In 2008 'Private Lessons' followed, presented for the Director's Fortnight at Cannes. Joachim then in 2012 directed 'Our Children' which premiered in Cannes' Un Certain Regard where Emilie Dequenne won the award for Best Actress. In 2015 'The White Knights' followed with a prestigious cast including Vincent Lindon, Valérie Donzelli, Louise Bourgoin, Reda Kateb, presented in Toronto and it took home the Best Director Award in San Sebastian.

'After Love', featuring Bérénice Bejo and Cédric Kahn, premiered at the Director's Fortnight in Cannes in 2016. His latest work is this year's 'Keep Going', featuring Virginie Efira and Kacey Mottet-Klein – it just premiered at Venice and is now screening at PIX.

Producer Tatiana Leite

Producer, Brazil

Tatiana Leite is a creative producer and film programmer from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. From 2000 to 2009 she programmed the international section of Rio Film Festival. In 2009 she became the International Adviser of Rio de Janeiro State Secretariat of Culture and she curated and produced several film seasons and retrospectives in Rio, São Paulo and London.

In 2012 Tatiana founded Bubbles Project. The independent production is involved in co-production and discovering new talents in Brazil and abroad. Features include 'Hopefuls' by Ives Rosenfeld which won Locarno's Carte Blanche in 2014; 'Pendular' by Julia Murat which premiered and won the FIPRESCI Award at the Panorama Section of Berlinale 2017 – and most recently, the Brazilian feature 'Loveling' (Benzinho) by Gustavo Pizzi which premiered at Sundance Film Festival and is now presented at CPH PIX.

Tatiana's latest film is 'A Submerged Family' by Maria Alché, a co-production between Brazil and Argentina which just premiered in Locarno. Her Chilean coproduction, 'Nona' is in post-production as well as the Brazilian-Danish coproduction, 'CORA'.

The New Talent Grand PIX award is handed out at an Award Reception on October 2.

The nominees:

  • Antoine Russbach, ‘Those Who Work’
  • Damiano & Fabio D'Innocenzo, ‘Boys Cry’
  • Eva Trobisch, ‘All Good’
  • Isabella Eklöf, ‘Holiday'
  • Jeremiah Zagar, ‘We the Animals’
  • Lukas Dhont, ‘Girl’
  • Marysia Nikitiuk, ‘When the Trees Fall’
  • Rasmus Kloster Bro, ‘Cutterhead’
  • Tuva Novotny, ‘Blind Spot’
  • Zsófia Szilágyi, ‘One Day’

Se mere

Få festival i din inbox!

Tilmeld dig vores nyhedsbrev, så du aldrig går glip af de seneste nyheder fra PIX.